Sigalovada Sutta - DN 31

Sigalovada Sutta (DN 31)
The Discourse to Sigala
Layperson's Code of Discipline

As we discuss the fundamental teachings of the Buddha, which would help us transcend the world of suffering, we have also been discussing certain discourses that are very much relevant in overcoming the day-to-day problems in our lives. This time we chose another important sutta called “the Singalovada Sutta” for our discussion. 

The Singalovada Sutta is highly regarded in the world as the code of discipline of the lay people. Here, the Buddha recommends us very important moral virtues and codes of discipline, which are very essential for a happy and trouble free life. This is relatively a long discourse. Basically this Sutta talks about 20 dhamma factors.

1.     Four Vices in Conduct
2.     Four Biases
3.     Six channels for dissipating wealth
4.     Six directions of worship (Six sides of household and social duties)

1. Four Vices of Conduct: 
"What are the four vices in conduct that he has eradicated? The destruction of life, householder, is a vice and so are stealing, sexual misconduct, and lying. These are the four vices that he has eradicated."

2. Four Biases
"In which four ways does one commit no evil action? Led by desire does one commit evil. Led by anger does one commit evil. Led by ignorance does one commit evil. Led by fear does one commit evil.

3. Six channels for dissipating wealth
"What are the six channels for dissipating wealth which he does not pursue?
(a) "indulgence in intoxicants which cause infatuation and heedlessness; (b) sauntering in streets at unseemly hours; (c) frequenting theatrical shows; (d) indulgence in gambling which causes heedlessness; (e) association with evil companions; (f) the habit of idleness.

4. Six directions of worship (Six sides of household and social duties)
"And how, young householder, does a noble disciple cover the six quarters?
"The following should be looked upon as the six quarters. The parents should be looked upon as the East, teachers as the South, wife and children as the West, friends and associates as the North, servants and employees as the Nadir, ascetics and brahmans as the Zenith.
  1. East= Parents
  2. South= Teachers
  3. West=Husband and Wife relationship
  4. North= Friends and associates
  5. Nadir= Employers and Employees
  6. Zenith=Religious and spiritual Institute



Post a Comment

Your comments and feedback are very helpful to us in improving our posts. We really appreciate your time. Thank you!
Dhamma USA Team.